The Scientist Friends of the Museum is a group of 20 renowned scientists who serve as advisors to the Museum.  Their expertise and time is greatly appreciated.

Gregor Cailliet: professor Emeritus of Biology (Ichthyology) Moss Landing Marine Laboratories, California State University System and Co-Director, Pacific Shark Research Center

Ed Clifton: geologist

Gage Dayton: administrative director of the UCSC of California Natural Reserves

Bruce Carlos Delgado: mayor of Marina, CA

Andres Durstenfeld: professor of biology at Monterey Peninsula College

Daniel Fernandez: professor science and environmental policy, CSUMB

David Greenfield:  emeritus professor of Zoology, Univ. of Hawaii: research associate Department of Ichthyology California Academy of Sciences

Elin Kelsey: award winning author, educator, researcher

Robert N. Lea: research associate in Ichthyology, California Academy of Sciences; research associate in Ichthyology, Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County; research affiliate, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories; American Fisheries Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists – Committee on Names of Fishes

Laura Lee Lienk: coordinator at Applied Science and Technology for the Service Learning Institute CSUMB; Specialist Science and Environmental/Watershed; director at Return of the Natives Restoration Education Project

George Matsumoto: senior education and research specialist, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

Todd Newbury: professor emeritus ecology and evolutionary biology UCSC; biology of ascidians; modular organisms; biosystems; author 'The Ardent Birder.'

Stephen Palumbi: director Hopkins Marine Station, Stanford University; Pew Fellow in Marine Conservation; senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment

John Pearse: professor emeritus marine biology, ecology, and evolutionary biology

Mark Readdie: resident director and reserve manager for the University of California Natural Reserve System and UCSC at Landels-Hill Big Creek Reserve System

Doug Smith: professor and chair in the Division of Science and Environmental Policy at CSU Monterey Bay

Stuart Weiss: co-founder Creekside Center for Earth Observation

Michael Westphal: ecologist, Bureau of Land Management, US Dept. of the Interior, Hollister, CA field office

Joe Wible: retired head librarian and bibliographer at Stanford’s Hopkins Marine Station’s Harold A. Miller Library

Suzanne Worcester: professor of science and environmental policy CSUMB